Tony Stoops Rugby Festival



Venue: HS Brackenfell

Dates: Saturday 16, Monday 18 and Wednesday 20 March 2019

Alexander Road, Ashton Secondary, Bellville South, Bergvliet, Bosmansdam, Bridgton, Cederberg Academy, De Kuilen, DF Malan, Dirkie Uys, Groenberg, HTS Bellville, Humansdorp Secondary, Jan van Riebeeck, Klein Nederburg, Knysna, Langenhoven High, Lutzville, Melkbosstrand, Montana, Monument Park, New Orleans, Otto du Plessis, Paulus Joubert, Piketberg, Porterville, Schoonspruit, Swartland, Vanrhynsdorp, Victoria Park, Vredenburg, WP LSEN Invitation XV, Weston and Worcester Gym.

Fixtures 2019


A Field

08:30  Otto du Plessis 25-21 Bridgton

09:45  Langenhoven High 19-20 Weston

11:00  Cederberg Acad 33-31 De Kuilen

12:15  Monument Park 14-24 Swartland

13:30  Worcester Gym 20-20 HTS Bellville A

14:45  Schoonspruit 22-10 DF Malan

B Field

08:30  Alexander Road 43-0 Knysna

09:45  Vredenburg 30-26 Ashton Sec

11:00  New Orleans 33-3 WP LSEN Inv

12:15  Lutzville 14-12 Bergvliet

13:30  Melkbosstrand 0-59 Bellville South

14:45  Groenberg 17-24 Piketberg


C Field

08:30  Namaqualand 21-8 Jan van Riebeeck

09:45  JG Meiring 12-8 Vanrhynsdorp

11:00  Klein Nederburg 18-17 Porterville

12:15  HTS Bellville B vs Bosmansdam

13:30  President 45-24 Victoria Park

14:45  Dirkie Uys 32-11 Paulus Joubert


A Field

08:30 Bellville South 5-3 Victoria Park

09:45 Jan van Riebeeck 13-22 WP LSEN Inv

11:00 Klein Nederburg 12-15Ashton Secondary

12:15 Bridgton 7-17 Swartland

13:30 Weston 10-15 Porterville

14:45 Schoonspruit 25-20 Worcester Gym

B Field

08:30 Bosmansdam 7-31 Knysna

09:45 Melbosstrand 7-38 Vanrhynsdorp

11:00 New Orleans 59-5 Alexander Road

12:15 Otto du Plessis 10-17 Cederberg Academy

13:30 Piketberg 22-11 Monument Park

14:45 Groenberg 8-13 Vredenburg

C Field

08:30 DF Malan vs Paarl Gym E

09:45 Dirkie Uys 8-5 Bergvliet

11:00 Bellville HTS 55-0 Paulus Joubert

12:15 Lutzville 20-28 President

13:30De Kuilen 22-24 Langenhoven High

14:45 JG Meiring 18-20 Namakwaland


16 March 2019

A Field

08:30  Melkbosstrand 15-59 Ashton Sec

09:45  Schoonspruit 18-12 Bridgton

11:00  New Orleans 24-12 Piketberg

12:15  Swartland 12-21 Groenberg

13:30  Dirkie Uys 8-24 Monument Park

14:45  DF Malan 20-24 Worcester Gym

B Field

08:30  Knysna 5-21 WP LSEN Invitation XV

09:45  Alexander Road 40-17 Vanrhynsdorp

11:00  Klein Nederburg 31-12 Bellville South

12:15  Vredenburg 60-0 Bosmansdam

13:30  Langenhoven High 19-21 Porterville

14:15  Lutzville 7-14 Bellville HTS

C Field

08:30  HTS Bellville B v Paarl Gym XV

09:45  Paulus Joubert 17-29 Jan van Riebeeck

11:00  Cederberg Academy 22-5 Bergvliet

12:15  Montana 15-10 Victoria Park

13:30  Weston 39-7 JG Meiring

14:45  Otto du Plessis 12-19 De Kuilen

In the mid-2000s Stokkies Truter (then Sports Organizer at HS Bosmansdam) and I combined our resources to present, for two years, the Pat Ambrose Festival, named after a much-loved governing body member whose legendary generosity made him an outstanding member of the Botrhasig community.

In 2007 Stokkies, now at HS President, suggested we get together again to start a new - and hopefully - more permanent festival.

And so, in 2008 the first Tony Stoops Rugby Festival, comprising just eight teams, took place at HS President.  It was such fun we decided to expand our net.  2009 saw with ten teams attend, 2010 brought us 24, which became 34 in 2011 and, believe it or not, 42 in 2012!

The festival is deliberately aimed at sides below the top tier in the Western Province plus anybody else, which seems to be mostly Bolanders, who wants to pitch in.

We were originally able to accommodate so many teams because (a) HS President could offer us four fields (b) Ben Theron, the refereeing equivalent of powdered milk, took personal charge of all the match officials and (c) all the WP and Boland sides simply drove in and out each day, making accommodation simple.

The 2013 Festival, the first at Tygerberg, involved 34 schools and was an outstanding success, thanks in no small part to the generosity of our sponsors and the accommodating nature of our host school.

C2M came on board as our major sponsors in 2014, a festival which included large doses of Noord-Kaap, Paarl Boys' High, Wynberg and Rondebosch among a field of 44 teams!

With one of Tygerberg's fields, the Welpiekamp, being decommissioned we had to slightly shorten our guest list for 2015.  On the plus side, the generous sponsorship from Spur Steak Ranches and Profin financial consultants eased our financial burden considerably.  Don't forget to visit the dedicated Festival facebook page, set by up by C2M.

In 2016 36 teams attended what proved to be the last festival to be hosted by Tygerberg.  We extend our sincere thanks to Dr Wikus Herselman and all concerned at Tygerberg, not only for giving us such a lovely home for four years, but also for being so understanding when the subject of the future had to be addressed.

Particularly encouraging was the enrolment of four teams from the northern part of the country: Pietersburg, the team of the festival, Ligbron Academy, Jeugland and Piet Retief.

The transition to Brackenfell in 2017 was as smooth as only Stokkies could make it.  33 schools participated, with Rondebosch and SACS joining us on the first day.  First-time entries included Groenberg from Grabouw, Pionier from Vryheid, Knysna and Louwville from Vredenburg.

In 2015 another of Stokkies' dreams - to send a festival selection overseas - was realised when the Tony Stoops Rhinos visited Ireland.  In 2016 the team toured Portugal and in 2017 two teams took to Scotland and the north of England.  Their exploits have appeared at the end of season posts on this site.  More details can be found on the Renosters facebook page so lovingly created and cared for by Stokkies' wife, Sanette.

We celebrate our tenth birthday at Easter 2018 and are extremely grateful and proud that both Brito's Meat Centres and Greens Plattekloof, the coffee and breakfast destination of choice on the border of the Boerewors Curtain, will both be there toasting our partnership over the years.  Brito's Meat Centres have generously agreed to be the title sponsors, while another major sponsor, Domino's Pizzas, will be sponsoring each Man of the Match (all 63 of them) with a voucher for their scrumptious products, which will be on sale at the ground.


Article by: